Am I Me? A Poem by Kate Rauner

Am I Me?

There are membranes in my cellsI am me CollapsedtreeLabels-simplified.svg

That limit-bound my organelles.

One carries DNA remote.

Yes I am eukaryote.

I hold ancient seas inside

So in a brackish brew reside;

A chordate, backbone, and I breathe.

Yes, I am fish from ancient seas.

I swing my arms to move about,

With forward eyes in shortened snout.

I have flattened finger nails.

Yes, monkey with a remnant tail.

A harder question than these three:

What does it take? To be me?

A question I face every day

And hope to answer my own way.

Please let me know what you think

