I’m No Scientist – a poem by Kate Rauner

 

Neil deGrasse Tyson, scientist

Neil deGrasse Tyson, scientist

“I’m no scientist.”
To say that’s just a pose,
A way to say that I insist
On things I wish were so.
I shove my fingers in my ears
And hum to drown the noise
Of the grim reality
Of truth that brings no joy.
Knowledge that upsets my friends
Will only cause me pain,
Will only get me tossed aside,
Abandoned once again.
Science always moving
Closer to the facts.
Demanding to me that I change
Is just too much to ask.

Claiming “I’m no scientist” is a sadly understandable way to duck an issue in politics (though I’ve got to wonder why that’s okay), but it’s no way to understand problems, or solve them. Surely we can do better. Give yourself a break – you didn’t create most of the opinions you reiterate. “When my information changes, I alter my conclusions. What do you do?” An apocryphal quote, most appropriate to the topic.

just a theory

 

3 thoughts on “I’m No Scientist – a poem by Kate Rauner

  1. Those whose jobs do not depend on their opinions and I’m such a person, can hold forth fearlessly, but politicians need to be re- elected they must hold the public majority opinion.
    The solving of problems apart from those relating to making money is something we are not good at: witness the state of the world.

    Like

    • I think you’re right. I guess the next question would be – do they believe what they say? It seems that we must find a way for politicians to survive saying they changed their mind or learned something new. (Some have survived changing their minds.)

      Like

Please let me know what you think

