Center of the Universe #space #physics #cosmology #science #ego #poem #poetry

You’ve heard that space is expanding,yertle the turtle
You’ve heard that science is sure
That galaxies fly from galaxies
For as long as time will endure.

But if space-time is expanding,
Just what’s it expanding into?
What’s beyond the edge of
The universe that we view?

Just more and more that we’ll never see,
Each frame of reference is valid.
Each star at the center of everything
Regardless of how much is added.
So I might be forgiven for saying
That I stand in a special place,
That I am the center of everything,

Of energy, matter, and space.

By Kate Rauner

Thanks to space.com for the question, and for giving me an excuse to believe I’m more important that you are! My poem reminds me of Dr Suess’s Yertle the Turtle 😀

4 thoughts on “Center of the Universe #space #physics #cosmology #science #ego #poem #poetry

    • Thanks. I don’t really understand it – but – there’s more. So far away or so long ago the light won’t reach us before the space between expands. I don’t speak the language of physics – math- well enough to follow it all. But I like the idea of each of us being the center.

      Like

Please let me know what you think

