More Life’s Coming #Alien #space #star #life #poem #poetry

Stromatolites

Pre-Cambrian fossil, 3.5 billion years old, but reminds me of a starry sky by Van Gough. Thanks to the US National Park Service

Life arose on Earth
In conditions fairly rare,
Yet as the universe matures
Life could be everywhere.

With star formation winding down,
Supernovae will dwindle,
Small dim stars proliferate,
More room for life to wiggle.

Impatient were our ancestors
Or maybe we’re just lucky
Self-replicating molecules
Simply weren’t too fussy.

Earth may be a pioneer
With most life future-tense,
Good news for astrobiologists
Five billion years hence.

By Kate Rauner

My schedule got away from me this week, so I’m posting my weekly poem late. I hope it’s worth the wait, and my thanks to smithsonianmag.com

Please let me know what you think

