Volunteer Weekend – do something for others and yourself #volunteers #volunteering #community

Southwest Fsetival of the Written WordI volunteered at my town’s Festival of the Written Word. It may not be as important as helping hurricane  victims, but not everything has to be life or death to be useful. I’m also a volunteer firefighter (volunteer departments need non-firefighter help too) and pack boxes at our local food bank.

Help others – help myself. This weekend I got a lead on a holiday book sale I may be able to sell my stories at, and the web address of a quartely that might publish a story or poem from me.

I volunteered for all three days – so, sure, the event messes up the weekend – this is the only post from me this week. But it’s time well spent. Find something in your own community that calls to you. Meet people outside your usual work-to-home-to-school-to shopping world. You’ll be glad you did.

Now I’m going to make a cup of tea and put my feet up 🙂

Please let me know what you think

